

Media release

10 October 2018

Agri SA announces Board at the 2018 Congress

Agri SA is proud to announce its Board who have been elected at the 2018 Congress today. The Board is representative of the entire agricultural value chain, including Agri SA's Provincial affiliates, commodity organisations and corporate members.

"The Presidency is an amazing privilege. I am responsible to the farmers and will remain faithful to Agri SA's constitution and mandates," said Dan Kriek, re-elected Agri SA President. "The past year has been a baptism of fire, particularly given the immense pressure farmers has been placed under from farm attacks, severe drought conditions, and the threat of expropriation without compensation (EWC)."

Dan is a stud farmer in the Free State and has been active in Agri SA structures for several years, having served as Free State Agriculture President and Agri SA Deputy President. This is his second term as Agri SA President.

The Agri SA Board for 2018/19 is:

Dan Kriek - President

Pierre Vercueil - Deputy president Phenias Gumede - Deputy president

- General Affairs Chamber representative Cornie Swart Doug Stern - General Affairs Chamber representative Francois Wilken - General Affairs Chamber representative Jaco Minnaar - Commodity Chamber representative Niël Joubert - Commodity Chamber representative - Commodity Chamber representative SK Makinana Gerhard Diedericks - Corporate Chamber Representative Rossouw Cillie - Corporate Chamber representative Nic Bronkhorst - Corporate Chamber Representative

Dr Charlotte Nkuna - Independent Director
Dr Kathy Hurley - Independent Director

"I could not ask for a better Board to support me and Agri SA during these important times. We look forward to a productive year ahead!"

Enquiries:

Omri van Zyl Agri SA Executive Director C: 082 417 5724